

MINUTES OF THE 48TH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE WILTSHIRE ORNITHOLOGICAL SOCIETY HELD ON

WEDNESDAY 5th April 2023 At The Corn Centre, Devizes,

1. Welcome and Apologies:

The Chairman Matt Prior welcomed 30 members to the 48th^a Annual General Meeting. Apologies were received from Paul Castle, Ted Smith, Frank Mogford, Rob Turner, Gareth & Sheila Hawkes, Jenny Elvin, and Jane and Jim Druett.

2. Minutes of 2022 AGM:

The minutes of the 2022 AGM had been circulated prior to the meeting. Members accepted the minutes without comment.

3. Chairman's Address: Matt Prior

- 1. The Chairman thanked the Committee for the work done over the last year.
- 2. The Chairman thanked David Little for work as Secretary and Indoor Meetings via zoom.
- The Editorial Board of Hobby, Paul Castle, Stephen Edwards and Bill Quantrill were thanked for their hard work.
- 4. Claire Jones has taken on another challenge, so has stepped down as Recorder. This very important role has been taken over by Paul Castle.
- 5. The Records Committee of Rob Turner, Granville Pictor, Kim Milsom and Mark Gurney were thanked for their work on records.
- 6. There is no BTO Representative in Wiltshire and someone is needed to take on this role.
- 7. Indoor Meeting post is still vacant, but at present covered by other committee members.
- Outdoor Meetings, numbering 16 were held last year. Granville Pictor has stepped down after 20 years and was thanked for his hard work.
- The Wiltshire Bird Fair in partnership with Wiltshire Wildlife Trust was held in April, 200 people attending. Many thanks to Izzy Fry, Alison Rymell & Jonny Cooper for their hard work and contribution.
- 10. The WOS Editorial team of Christine Johnson, Alison Rymell were thanked for production of a high standard quarterly magazine.
- 11. Conservation: Tree Sparrow population stabilised this year.
- 12. Membership. Our presence on social media has led to increased membership, and junior membership is now 12, and hopefully will increase.
- 13. Social Media. A WOS Instagram account was started in September., managed by Izzy Fry & Charlie Murphy. 27 posts have been created with 214 followers. Ted Smith has managed the Twitter account with 560 followers, up from 196 last year. Thanks to Izzy & Charlie for taking us forward into the world of social media.
- 14. Izzy Fry & Charlie Murphy have inspired us too improve our offer to the younger generation., with many ideas. Claire & Charlie Murphy have been invited onto the Executive Committee forming a Youth Development sub-committee with Jonny Cooper.
- 15. Finally, I would like to draw members attention to the Indoor Meetings Organiser Vacancy & the BTO Representative vacancy. We do need these positions filled, so please step forward and help us.

8. Election of Secretary: David Little was re-elected as Secretary.
9. Election of Executive Committee: Paul Castle was re-elected as deputy chairman.

Graham Deacon, , Frank Mogford, Gareth Hawkes, and Jonny Cooper

were re-elected to the Committee.

10. Election of Outdoor Meetings Organiser: Paul Tryner was elected unanimously.

11. Youth Development & Safeguarding: Claire Murphy & Charlie Murphy were elected unanimously.

12. Election of Auditor: An auditor for 2023-4 will need to be found.

13. Any Other Business: None

There being no further business the Chairman closed the formal meeting at 2000 hours.

DJL 29.04.2023